2018 FIFA World Cup squads

Football World Cup trophy prior to the 2010 World Cup in South AfricaThis is The Roar‘s one stop shop for all the 2018 FIFA World Cup squads as they are named before the tournament gets underway in Russia on June 15.

32 nations will once again compete at the World Cup, with this to be the final in the current format before football’s biggest tournament is expanded to 48 teams. The teams who have qualified for the tournament are as follows:

List of teams qualified for the 2018 FIFA World Cup

Russia (hosts)
Costa Rica
Saudi Arabia
South Korea

Qualification for the 2018 tournament began in March of 2015, with the Asian and CONCACAF confederations (which is made up of all North, Central American and Caribbean nations) the first to kick-off.

The rest began throughout 2015 and 2016, with separate tournaments in Africa, Europe, Oceania and South America.

Spots are allocated from the confederations under the current 32-team format as follows:

  • Asia (AFC) – 4.5 places
  • Africa (CAF) – 5 spots
  • North, Central American and Caribbean (CONCACAF) – 3.5 places
  • South America (CONMEBOL) – 3.5 spots
  • Europe (UEFA) – 14 spots
  • Oceania (OFC) – 0.5 spots

The 0.5 spots will be decided in playoff fixtures, with a home and away leg for each nation to decide who will go through to the finals of the World Cup in Russia.

For the 2018 World Cup, the fourth placed team in CONCACAF will play the fifth placed team in Asia, while the first placed team in Oceania will play the fourth best team in the South American confederation.

The hosts of the tournament always qualify as team one in Group A, meaning the dates and venues of their three group matches have already been decided.

Brazil became the first team to qualify outside of the hosts for the tournament, only losing one of their first 14 games in South American qualifying.

Nations will first name a preliminary squad of 30 players, which will then be cut to 23 players in the lead-up to the tournament.

Players who are seriously injured before the tournament begins are allowed to be replaced up to 24 hours before the first match by any player, regardless of whether they were in the preliminary squad or not.

Last updated: 11 October, 2017