State of Origin Fixtures & Draw 2017

Here is the full 2017 State of Origin draw and fixtures.

The Queensland Maroons won Game 2 over the NSW Blues in Sydney, 18-16, to send the series to a decider in Brisbane.

The State Of Origin Fixtures & Draw sees a three-match series contested between NSW and Queensland that usually begins in late May and finishes in the middle of July. In 2017, the first match took place on May 31 and Game 2 on June 21. Game 3 will be played on July 12, with kick-off scheduled for 8pm.

More State of Origin 2
» Queensland’s champions refuse to lose
» Match report: Maroons steal Game 2 win to force a decider
» Watch all the Origin 2 highlights
» Why the State of Origin man of the match process is broken
» WATCH: Andrew Johns blasts the Blues’ woeful second half

2017 State of Origin fixtures

Origin Game One: Queensland vs NSW – Wednesday, 31 May 2017, 8.00pm AEST – Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane: NSW Blues 28 defeated Queensland Maroons 4

Origin Game Two: NSW vs Queensland – Wednesday, 21 June 2017, 8.00pm AEST – ANZ Stadium, Sydney: Queensland Maroons 18 defeated NSW Blues 16

Origin Game Three: Queensland vs NSW – Wednesday 12 July 2017, 8.00pm AEST – Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Games for 2017 have a scheduled kick off time of 8:00pm AEST though are likely to kick off later. The official Origin 1 kick-off time is 8:12pm AEST, according to the NRL’s run-sheet.**

**Important note – while the State of Origin kick-off time is always scheduled for 8:00pm, the actual start time is often far later. The exact kick-off time, after the Australian national anthem is performed, and TV specials are completed, is usually closer to 8:20pm. Origins 1 and 2 in 2015, for example, both kicked off at 8:22pm AEST. We expect a similar kick off time in 2017, with pre-match entertainment including 15 minutes of fireworks.

Last year’s Origin fixtures:

Origin Game One: NSW vs Queensland – Wednesday, 1 June 2016, ANZ Stadium, Sydney: Queensland 6 defeated New South Wales 4

Origin Game Two: Queensland vs NSW – Wednesday, 22 June 2016, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane: Queensland 26 defeated New South Wales 16

Origin Game Three: NSW vs Queensland – Wednesday 13 July 2017, ANZ Stadium, Sydney: New South Wales 18 defeated Queensland 14

Johnathan Thurston looks to pass during Queensland's 32-8 win in Game 3 of the 2014 State of Origin Series.(Image: Dan Peled/AAP)

Each Origin series sees either New South Wales Blues or Queensland Maroons play two of the series’ three games at their home ground. 2015 saw the return of Origin football to the MCG, where there was one game. A game in Melbourne has also been confirmed for the 2018 series.

In 2014, Queensland entered the series having won the last eight on the trot, and had the advantage with two matches played at Suncorp Stadium, the home of the Maroons. Nonetheless, the Blues triumphed, with two close wins in the first two games to take the series. The Maroons recaptured the trophy in 2015, earning their ninth win in ten seasons.

Last updated: 22 June, 2017